Wednesday Quote: Waiting on God

Some time ago, Matt and I came to a decision (several years in the making), a step of faith in a way. I’m not ready to talk about what the decision was in this public forum…but I will tell you that it’s a step of total dependence, something we can’t do on our own. But it is also a step into something I know for sure is God’s will (because it’s commanded in the Bible). We have prayed and sensed both the Lord’s leading and blessing. The first step necessary for us in this decision is the sale of a rental house that we’ve owned. In addition to needing to sell the rental in order to move forward in our plans, we also need to sell the rental because our renters moved out & we can’t find new ones if we’re going to sell it out from under them. So at the moment, we’re waiting on God and paying 2 mortgages. We have money in savings to cover the second mortgage, but the longer we pay both, the less money we have.

I’ve been thinking a lot about waiting on God. In the beginning it was easy – I’m determined not to worry, and I committed to the Lord (wrote it in my journal, for crying out loud) that I would NOT allow the enemy to steal my trust in Jesus, whatever direction this path takes. No matter my circumstances, I will rejoice and receive what the Lord has for us in this process.

Fast forward to today: Not so easy. My prayers about this matter pretty much amount to: “Well, Lord. I don’t really know what to say to You about this. But I choose to trust You.” And then I remind Him of the logistics (how much money we have/don’t have, the clock is ticking away, our best chance to sell was while the tax credit was still in effect, etc.)

So today’s quote is from another of my all time favorite books, Andrew Murray’s Waiting on God (find another quote from this great book here). Favorite thing: It’s a collection of 31 devotionals about waiting on God. Only 2 or 3 of them refer to waiting on God to DO something (which is probably 99% of what I mean when I say I’m waiting – I mean I’m waiting on God to do what I think He needs to do in a given situation.)

I needed that perspective shift today.Because when I’m waiting on God to do what I want, I get impatient.

I need to remember that I’m not waiting on God to sell our rental. I’m not waiting on God to move us forward in the process. I’m just waiting on God. To be God. Looking to Him, waiting on Him the way a server WAITS on customers at a restaurant.

Because I’m specifically wanting to be rebuked in my impatience today, here’s an excerpt from day 11: Waiting Patiently…

“Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him…” Psalm 37:7

“In patience possess your souls.” “You have need of patience.” “Let patience have it’s perfect work…” Such words of the Holy Spirit show us what an important element in the Christian life and character patience is. And nowhere is there a better place for cultivating or displaying it than in waiting on God. There we discover how impatient we are, and what our impatience means. We confess at times that we are impatient with men and circumstances that hinder us, or with ourselves and our slow progress in the Christian life. If we truly set ourselves to wait upon God, we shall find that it is with Him we are impatient, because He does not at once, or as soon as we could wish, do our bidding

All the exercises of the spiritual life, our reading and praying, our willing and doing, have their very great value. But they can go no farther than this, that they point the way and prepare us in humility to look to and to depend alone on God Himself, and in patience to wait His good time and mercy. The waiting is to teach us our absolute  dependence upon God’s mighty working, and to make us in perfect patience place ourselves at His disposal…

“Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.” The margin gives for “rest in the Lord,” “Be silent to the Lord,” or in the Revised Version, “Be still before the Lord.” It is resting in the Lord, in His will, His promise, His faithfulness, and His love, that makes patience easy…

Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him.” Yes, for Him. Seek not only the help, the gift. You need to seek: Himself; wait for Him…  Whether it be in the shorter specific periods of waiting, or a the continuous habit of the souls: Rest in the Lord, be still before the Lord, and wait patiently.

So today, I’m going to try to allow this period of waiting on God in something specific to train and teach me to allow waiting on God to be “the continuous habit of the soul.” Amen.

7 Comments

Filed under Quote of the Week

7 responses to “Wednesday Quote: Waiting on God

  1. Lori Ernst

    Thank you, Renee, for sharing that! What a timely word from the Lord!! I liked the encouragement and reminder to wait on God to be God… that’s it! :) Thank you for sharing… and I think I want Murray’s book!

    • Thanks Lori! I’m so glad it was encouraging, and I hope you do get the book! I read it the first time one of the times I was in Central Asia (I think it was the second trip in 2003, but I’m not positive), it’s been very foundational. I’m pretty sure you could get it for dirt cheap on half.com, you should check there first… Also…miss you!

  2. Renee…this is so good! I think the LORD is trying to driving this home in my life right now as well.

    By the way, I don’t know if you had the same experience as me in this, but may I refer you back to session five of the Esther study? The whole thing was about waiting on the LORD. I took a flurry of notes and had to pause her several times to get it all down. :)

    • Stacy, this made me laugh out loud. I totally do not remember BM even talking about this in Esther, I’ll have to go back and look at my notes. I’m guessing that I wasn’t in a season of impatience, so I was probably like, “Oh, yes, Beth Moore, that is totally true.” and then it just went away. But now that I’m struggling… :D

  3. Sonya

    As I read this I was also thinking of Beth Moore session. This week I have been making a conscience decision of looking to God instead of my event in waiting….. Thanks Renee for sharing!

  4. Lydia Louise

    There’s a beautiful Elisabeth Elliot poem about this that I have written down and taped to the wall by my bed so I read it when I’m waking every morning. It’s in Passion and Purity, in the 15th chapter called “Little Deaths”. The last lines of the poem are “And so, not even for the light / To show a step ahead, / But for Thee, dear Lord, / I wait.”
    I have those words memorized, but putting them into practice is a whole ‘nother story.

  5. Betsy

    Thank you for this. I especially liked this..

    “The waiting is to teach us our absolute dependence upon God’s mighty working, and to make us in perfect patience place ourselves at His disposal…”

    What a great insight and reminder! And I just ordered the book from Amazon (thank you Swagbucks!)

Leave a Reply

